Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission has the following responsibilities:

  • Issue certificates of appropriateness for eligible activities identified in the City’s Historic Preservation Ordinance.
  • Conduct or administer an ongoing survey to identify historically and architecturally significant areas, sites, structures, and landmarks.
  • Make recommendations for designation of landmarks or new or expanded districts to the Planning Board.
  • Advise the City Council, Planning Board, and City Departments regarding the protection of historic landmarks and districts.
  • Review and make recommendations regarding all national register proposals for properties and districts within the City.
  • Assist in the development of relevant sections of the City’s Comprehensive Plan pertaining to historic resources and historic preservation.
  • Educate and inform the citizens and property owners in Biddeford concerning the historic and architectural heritage of the City.

The Board consists of seven members (five voting members and two associate members), each a resident of the City of Biddeford. Each member is nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council for a three year-term. The Mayor shall have the discretion of appointing members and associate members to the Commission with terms expiring after two years but less than three years for the purpose of staggering appointments throughout a calendar year.

Information on the City of Biddeford Historic Preservation Program

  1. Jeff Cabral

    Phone: (302) 858-8351

    50 Adams Street, #5

    Term Expires: 12/2023

  2. Leah Schaffer

    Vice Chair
    Phone: (757) 927-5324

    5 Washington Street, #201

    Term Expires: 12/2025

  3. Catherine Mayo

    Phone: (207) 831-7508

    179 Hill Street

    Term Expires: 12/2024

  4. Erin Ware

    Phone: (207) 210-8288
    24 W. Myrtle Street, Apt. B
    Term Expires: 12/2023

  5. Julie Larry

    Regular Member
    Phone: (207) 710-2012

    25 Dartmouth Street, Apt. C

    Term Expires: 12/2025

  6. James Flint

    Associate Member
    Phone: (207) 590-0458

    360 South Street

    Term Expires: 12/2024

  7. Alison Tobey

    Associate Member
    Phone: 719-330-5774

    28 Pearl St., Suite 114

    Term Expires 12/2028

  1. Brad Favreau

    Economic Development Coordinator