Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

The purpose of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee is to create a culture of acceptance and mutual respect that acknowledges differences and strives for equitable outcomes of opportunity, access and inclusion by: 

  1. Advising the Biddeford City Council on policy decisions related to diversity, equitable outcomes, and inclusion; 
  2. Examining existing city policies, programs and practices through a community lens to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion;
  3. Making recommendations to the Council on public engagement strategies and methods by which all Biddeford residents have the opportunity to better participate in the decision-making process, 
  4. Provide feedback, guidance, strategies and recommendations to increase community engagement specifically by underrepresented groups. 
  5. Identifying local community leaders and building more leadership capacity in Biddeford’s diverse communities. 


The committee consists of nine members that are each appointed for a two-year term. The Mayor appoints and the City Council confirms Committee members. Members must reside, own a business, or attend school within the City of Biddeford. 

The Council will strive to appoint members to the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee who bring their lived experiences regardless of their immutable traits including but not limited to race, ethnicity, LGBTQ+, gender, socio-economic status/history, differently abled, age amongst other identities. Appointed members will be expected to think broadly in terms of how issues of racism, sexism, ableism, and other discriminatory and prejudicial biases impact all residents in Biddeford.

The Committee will meet once per month. A meeting may be held without a quorum; however, to vote on a matter the committee must have a quorum present which will consist of a simple majority of appointed voting members. 

This committee was created in January 2022. Meetings are currently held on the second Monday of each month.

Contact the Committee

Diversity Calendar

  1. Liam LaFountain

    Councilor Ward 7

  2. Irene Brackett

  3. Martha Jacques

  4. Florence Leighton

  5. Kayla Lewis

  6. Andrew Lovley

  7. Anne Morrissey

  8. Bistra Nikiforova

  9. Sydney Wolf

  1. Danica Lamontagne

    Assistant to the City Manager; Communications

  2. Shelly Gibson

    Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Coordinator